We are excited to announced that we have been nominated for a 2023 Muddy Award for Contemporary Blues Act of the Year by the Cascade Blues Association!   Thank you to the CBA members for nominating us, and to all the CBA officers and  board members who volunteer their time to keep the blues alive.  We are so very honored to be recognized amongst this talented group of musicians and grateful to be a part of this blues community.  Congratulations to all the nominees!   The Muddy Award Ceremony will be held on Sunday, January 27 at Alberta Abbey in Portland at 4PM.  Tickets are available at eventbrite.



Here is the full list of nominees:

Contemporary Blues act
Ty Curtis
Kevin Selfe
Ben Rice & the PDX Hustle
Lloyd Jones R & B act:
Ben Rice & the PDX Hustle
Vintage Soul
LaRhonda Steele & the Steele Family Band
Chad Rupp & Sugar Roots
Norman Sylvester
Traditional Blues Act
Tevis Hodge, Jr.
Johnny Wheels & the Swamp Donkeys
Bottleneck Blues Band
Lloyd Jones
Curtis Salgado & Alan Hager
New Act:
TJ Wong Trio
Taylor Newville
Kivett Bednar Band
Regional Act:
Ben Rice & the PDX Hustle
Polly O’Keary & the Rhythm Method
Rae Gordon
Johnny Wheels & the Swamp Donkey
Female Vocalist:
Rae Gordon
Lisa Mann
Ms. Vee (Valyria Arnold)
Male Vocalist:
Chad Rupp
Johnny Wheels (John Kennicott)
Ben Rice
Electric Guitar:
Ben Rice
Alan Hager
TJ Wong
Acoustic Guitar:
Tevis Hodge, Jr.
Alan Hager
Ellen Whyte
Steve Kerin
Pat McDougall
Brady T. Goss
Brian Foxworth
Dave Melyan
Edwin Coleman III
Alec Donn
Timmer Blakeley
Lisa Mann
Calen Uhlig
Kim Field
Johnny Wheels (John Kennicott)
Joel Astley
Curtis Salgado
Pete Moss
PDX Hustle horn section – Pete Peterson & John Dover
Soul Survivor – Chris Mercer & Joe-Mack McCarthy
Blue Diamond
Catfish Lou’s
Mekong Bistro
NW Recording:
Pat McDougall – In the Key of Sorry
TJ Wong – Kingdom Come
Chad Rupp & the Sugar Roots – Devil Won’t Get You
Debra Penk
Kelly Ralph
Norm Eder
Kathy Rose
Dance Ambassador:
William Crowe
Clarence (Clay) Clayton, Jr.
Brenda Russell
NW Event:
2023 Waterfront Blues Festival
Peninsula R & B Festival
Winter Music Festival
NW Women’s Rhythm & Blues Holiday Show
Performance of the Year:
Revival Brothers Band at Mekong Bistro
NW Women’s Rhythm & Blues Holiday Show
Bernard Allison at Peninsula R & B festival
Hurley Award:
Robin Gibson
Rebecca Rutledge
Saron Khut (Mekong Bistro)
Lifetime Achievement:
Alan Hager
Rae Gordon
Sonny Hess